interested in learning more about cave rescue

Discuss training events, techniques, equipment, safety and related issues. Click here to visit the National Cave Rescue Commission webpage.

Moderator: Tim White

interested in learning more about cave rescue

Postby ApachePunk » Mar 8, 2011 10:21 pm

I am a former EMT and I am interested in learning more about cave rescue and how to get involved. I want to know anything and everything and where to get training. I have seen the NCRC website, but I want to talk to people involved in it too.
ApachePunk
Infrequent Poster

Re: interested in learning more about cave rescue

Postby Stridergdm » Mar 8, 2011 10:55 pm

ApachePunk wrote:I am a former EMT and I am interested in learning more about cave rescue and how to get involved. I want to know anything and everything and where to get training. I have seen the NCRC website, but I want to talk to people involved in it too.

Welcome. First to start, what part of the country are you in?
Do you cave yourself, or merely interested from the agency side?

If you can, look for an "OCR" in your area. These Orientation to Cave Rescue are a great place to get an intro cave rescue and there's often a part of the day simply focusing on the teaching cavers about how agencies do things and teaching agency folks about caving.

And obviously I'd recommend joining us all in Puerto Rico for the week long class.

In the meantime, if you questions, fire away.
Cavers rescue cavers!
Stridergdm
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Greg Moore
Primary Grotto Affiliation: RPI Grotto

Postby ApachePunk » Mar 8, 2011 11:09 pm

I live in central Indiana. I start caving when I was 9, but have not caved in several years. I am looking to get back into it. Cave rescue came up in my online searching and it sparked my interest.
ApachePunk
Infrequent Poster

Postby Stridergdm » Mar 8, 2011 11:33 pm