Problems with rescues in cave

Discuss training events, techniques, equipment, safety and related issues. Click here to visit the National Cave Rescue Commission webpage.

Moderator: Tim White

Problems with rescues in cave

Postby Msabet » Jul 4, 2010 12:07 am

Hello

I am assisting a friend of mine who is putting a power point presentation about problems associated with rescue or recoveries in caves. I could think of few problems such as establishing anchors, running water, hypothermia, long haul, tight spots etc but there has to be many more complicated problems with cave rescue especially long hauls ( 200 meter or more). My background is mountain rescue and I have done some confined space rescue so I am very familiar with rescue rigging but again, cave is different animal.

Reagrds

MS
Msabet
Infrequent Poster

Re: Problems with rescues in cave

Postby NZcaver » Jul 4, 2010 4:13 am

Welcome back to the forum. Yes, cave rescue is a different animal.

The best way to gain familiarity is for you or your friend to attend some cave rescue training.

There's actually a weekend Orientation to Cave Rescue training coming up in a few weeks in San Andreas, CA. If you're in the Yosemite area, this is not far and would be the perfect opportunity to gain some insight into cave rescue. I highly recommend it. See http://www.caves.org/ncrc/ncrc-wr/OCR20 ... ration.pdf for full details.

An online resource which may also help is the NSS publication American Caving Accidents. This details hundreds and hundreds of caving related accidents and safety incidents in North America over the course of many years, and is published on line as well as in magazine form. See http://www.caves.org/pub/aca/