Thanks Cavechat

This is a forum intended only for discussion of White Nose Syndrome.

Moderator: Moderators

Thanks Cavechat

Postby bsteffen » May 11, 2010 10:49 am

Hello All,

I just wanted to say thank you to all who have posted WNS info. I am a bat biologist for an environmental consulting company and have been monitoring Cavechat for the last two years. I decided to join this morning and express my appreciation. While there is definately some wild speculation, crazy ideas, heated discussions that occur on this message board, I have found Cavechat to be the best source of current information regarding current WNS distribution, research, etc. I am the WNS "expert" at my company, and have been working on a decon protocol for use by my field teams. The protocol that I have developed includes a complete list of WNS affected counties. Through Cavechat I have been able to update my occurence list nearly in real time.....often several days before notification from the USFWS. This is extemely important as I have gear for use in WNS positive counties and gear for WNS negative counties. It hasnt happened yet, but I am waiting for the day when a county goes from negative to positive while I am in the field.

FYI, I too am concerned over the cave closures. While I have only been in a handful of caves, I spent 4 winters of my life studying hibernating Indiana bats in abandoned mines while working on my masters degree, and will go underground any (and every) chance I get. I am absolutely terrified that I wont be able to take my two daughters caving when they get bigger.

Anyway thanks for all the great info...............PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, keep it up. You all are a valuable resource that I will exploit for the duration of my career.
bsteffen
Infrequent Poster

Re: Thanks Cavechat

Postby ArCaver » May 11, 2010 10:59 am

And thank you very much for posting. Feedback like this is very welcome. :kewl:
ArCaver
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby NZcaver » May 11, 2010 11:10 am