Rack Decision ...

Discuss vertical caving, equipment, & techniques. Also visit the NSS Vertical Section.

Moderator: Tim White

Rack Decision ...

Postby Caver1402 » Jul 19, 2007 4:15 pm

Should I go with this: http://www.onrope1.com/store/index.php? ... &parent=14 ?

I have small hands ...

I have used both a regular rack and a micro rack, but I am by no means an expert and the site says the micros are only for the extremely proficient. Any advice?

I was considering the micro simply because it is smaller and on long trips ... well, you can guess stuff gets heavy after awhile!
Laura J. Lexander
NSS #52727 / Affiliated with the WCG, NNG, and IKC
CRF Eastern Operations Personnel Officer
http://lexanderfamily.com - Updated 07/28/09
Caver1402
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Laura J. Lexander
NSS #: 52727
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Windy City Grotto

Postby David_Campen » Jul 19, 2007 4:37 pm

I used to use a 6-bar j-frame rack but now I use a micro rack because it weighs less. Except for the weight consideration I would still be using the 6 bar j-frame rack.

If you get a 6-bar j-frame rack I would suggest you get an SMC rack since that is available with the 90 degree twist in the eyelet.

A u-frame micro rack weighs less but it can be more dangerous. If you get a micro rack I would suggest that you get the longer frame and a single hyperbar.
David_Campen
Prolific Poster

Postby Ralph E. Powers » Jul 19, 2007 4:41 pm

What I'm wondering is why is the more "narrower" J-bar rack for the more proficent? I don't understand the concept of it except that it might be useful in tight/confined space rappels... not that the standard rack was any problem in that area anyway (least, not for me).

Is it because it's less friction??

Ok, I don't get it! Inquiring minds want to know! :waving:
Without the possibility of death, adventure is not possible. ~ Reinhold Messner

http://ralph.rigidtech.com/albums.php
Ralph E. Powers
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

NSS #: 37616