Upper ascender on left or right?

Discuss vertical caving, equipment, & techniques. Also visit the NSS Vertical Section.

Moderator: Tim White

Upper ascender on left or right?

Postby jacksbackw » Mar 25, 2007 6:50 am

I am new to vertical and have a question about setup.

During a vertical training session we hooked up the upper ascender (right hand) to the lanyard and used it on the right, however after reading and looking at many a diagram, I have seen it is typically situated on the left as not to interfere with the croll.

I think the reason we had it on the right is because we were keeping QAS situated on the left, open and available to attach.

Can any one shed some light for me on this?
jacksbackw
Infrequent Poster

Postby Stridergdm » Mar 25, 2007 7:29 am

(I'm assuming you're using a frog setup?)

About the only thing here folks will agree on is that yes, you need a handled ascender!

I've heard the "use a left handed one so it won't interfere with the croll". But NZCaver has a good article where he put that to the test and found he couldn't easliy create the problem. His conclusion as I recall (and my experience using a right-handed ascender on my frog) is that it is NOT a problem.

Besides, some folks use a basic, which is even less likely to cause that problem! :-)

Finally... see the threads Define a croll? and Do you use a QAS?

Basically, if you're using a frog, you can probably call your single handled ascender your QAS. Myself and I think all the froggers I've caved with don't bother with a 2nd handled ascender.

But, YMMV.
Stridergdm
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Greg Moore
Primary Grotto Affiliation: RPI Grotto

Postby jacksbackw » Mar 25, 2007 8:10 am

Stridergdm wrote:(I'm assuming you're using a frog setup?)

About the only thing here folks will agree on is that yes, you need a handled ascender!