QAS/Cow Tails Question

Discuss vertical caving, equipment, & techniques. Also visit the NSS Vertical Section.

Moderator: Tim White

QAS/Cow Tails Question

Postby tflaris » Oct 28, 2013 5:07 pm

Total newbie caver question. I have been reading up on the Frog System and I noticed some literature uses the QAS attached to the foot loops and long cow's tail while other use a third Cow's tail attached to the foot loops and QAS.

Why the discrepancy? Personal preference?

Thanks

Tony Flaris
tflaris
Infrequent Poster

Re: QAS/Cow Tails Question

Postby Anonymous_Coward » Oct 28, 2013 6:01 pm

Hi Tony,

There have been pages upon pages written about this, but I will spare you the misery and try to give you the quick version. (which will almost certainly be immediately and passionately disagreed with by trolls)

For certain on-rope maneuvers, you need a short cowstail and a long cowstail. Ideally, both of them should be equipped with a carabiner for clipping into things. In the simplest version of the frog, your foot (upper) ascender is attached to your long cowstail via a carabiner. This setup allows the long cowstail to function as the safety tether between you and the foot ascender, or as a clip in point for anchors, rebelays, traverses, etc.

Other methods of attaching the upper ascender are not as versatile. Hard-tying the ascender to the cowstail robs you of the ability to clip into anything with your long cowstail except a vertical rope. Attaching the ascender with a small quick link is also popular. This is more versatile than hard-tying, but adds weight and another link in the system. With this setup, a carabiner can be added into the quick link for when you need to clip into bolts or loops of rope or webbing.