Changeover questions

Discuss vertical caving, equipment, & techniques. Also visit the NSS Vertical Section.

Moderator: Tim White

Changeover questions

Postby GroundquestMSA » May 10, 2011 3:10 pm

I've been practicing changeovers in my poor little maple and have a few questions. Firstly, is their any reason I should avoid using a figure 8? I use a rescue 8 because I'm a scrawny lad and have never had trouble controlling my rate of descent. It seems like less bulk than a rack and is quicker to change. Also, my j-rack is a SMC with 6 stainless u-bars but has no tie off bar or whatever those things are called. Is their a standard method of locking off in this case? I have been simply mashing the bars up, pulling up rope from below and tying a quick knot above the rack. I can then stick a carabiner through the knot loop and top of the rack to ensure that I can't budge but this has so far seemed unnecessary. Please remember that I have no knowledge of the vernacular of vertical exploration. Thanks
GroundquestMSA
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Re: Changeover questions

Postby Scott McCrea » May 10, 2011 3:47 pm

Good job. Practicing is the good habit. Asking questions might even be better. :clap:

Nothing wrong with a Fig 8. Smaller and lighter (and cheaper) is a good thing. It is not appropriate for everything, but it is perfect for some stuff. When you get on some really muddy ropes with a fig 8, you'll wish you had more meat on your bones.

When locking off without a hyperbar, simply flip the rope over the top of the rack between the rope and the rack. Then, back under and tie a knot above. This holds the bars together a bit more securely than the method you described.

Changeovers are vertical cavers reserve parachute. Everyone should be very good at them. Kudos for practicing them.
Scott McCrea
SWAYGO
Scott McCrea
Global Moderator

NSS #: 40839RL
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Flittermouse Grotto

Postby Carl Amundson » May 10, 2011 5:27 pm