Speed climbing rope

Discuss vertical caving, equipment, & techniques. Also visit the NSS Vertical Section.

Moderator: Tim White

Speed climbing rope

Postby treeview » Aug 3, 2010 6:40 pm

I work as an arborist but climb mo]re like a caver. Many years ago I read the first edition of ON ROPE and it changed the way I climb trees. Six years ago I found the Unicender and now I only climb SRT. To me, what cavers have known for decades, arborists are finally discovering.

On my website, treebuzz.com, there is a perpetual discussion about the differences in speed and efficiency of rope walking, etc. and footlocking into the tree. I've read reports from the races that NSS has but I can't find the info now.

Where do I find the rules and results fro\m the speed climbing events?

Also, in the real world, what sort of ascent rates, to heights no more than 120' would be 'normal' for cavers, not in competition.

Thanks,

Tom
treeview
Infrequent Poster

Re: Speed climbing rope

Postby chh » Aug 3, 2010 7:45 pm

Hey Tom,
I'm an arborist as well as a caver, but I'm afraid all I can offer is "it depends". I've seen some really fast cavers on SRT, but then I've seen some good tree climbers who could probably footlock 100 feet of rope faster than some cavers could do it with ascenders. Just depends on what you practice I guess. I just taught a new hire the wonders of SRT access the other day. It's hard to believe that some folks still just body thrust for access, huh?