Favorite lenses for shooting in caves?

Techniques and equipment.

Moderator: Moderators

Favorite lenses for shooting in caves?

Postby Steven Johnson » Nov 11, 2011 6:50 pm

OK, so I'm new to this whole interchangeable-lens-camera thing (about to get my first DSLR after years of one-lens-fits-all cameras), and I'm trying to figure out what the most versatile lenses for most cave scenes are... or if it even makes sense to ask that question. What sort of focal length / aperture etc. have you found to be most useful, and how much do you go with primes vs zooms? Do you tend to schlep multiple lenses along, or just pick one as the most likely candidate?
Steven Johnson
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

NSS #: 49562
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Diablo Grotto

Re: Favorite lenses for shooting in caves?

Postby innermostphoto » Nov 12, 2011 1:31 pm

Wear hearing protection and watch out for ricochets!!!

Seriously. Wide, wide wide! Don't be cheap on good glass. It is not the camera that gets the sharp image. Popular opinion seems to be all about megapixels when in most cases only 5mp is all you need. Those smart phones, plastic lenses. No glass at all. I would also shy away from aftermarket lenses. Just me. No matter what type of lens you choose make sure it is wide with good glass. The lower the f stop the better in some low light situations.

bob biddix
Innermost Imagery
http://www.innermostimagery.com
innermostphoto
Frequent Poster

Primary Grotto Affiliation: insert your own meaningless abbr. here

Postby Steven Johnson » Nov 12, 2011 2:05 pm

innermostphoto wrote:It is not the camera that gets the sharp image. Popular opinion seems to be all about megapixels when in most cases only 5mp is all you need. Those smart phones, plastic lenses. No glass at all. I would also shy away from aftermarket lenses. Just me. No matter what type of lens you choose make sure it is wide with good glass. The lower the f stop the better in some low light situations.