Helmet Cam advice required for a non-caver!

Techniques and equipment.

Moderator: Moderators

Helmet Cam advice required for a non-caver!

Postby richboden » Oct 24, 2010 12:34 pm

Hi all,
I'm not a caver, I'm a scientist who works on a cave so my experience of both caving and videography is pretty limited...but I need some advice and I'm hoping someone here can help!

I need a helmet cam that can take good quality (not necessarily HD though that would be a bonus) footage for about 5h and I have a budget of about £300 (about $500) at the moment though could spend more I guess if I have to. I need one that I can basically put in place and forget about for an entire cave expedition and then download the footage from aferwards. If I had to change SD cards halfway through, that would be ok I guess as long as there was some kind of warning as to when it needed doing. If possible, I'd like to be able to take it off and give it to one of the divers who collects my samples from the underwater parts of the cave too, so a waterproof one would be a huge bonus. If I have to buy two separate cameras (one for me, one for the diver) that's not a problem.

Also, where is the best place to mount it so that the LED lights on the front of the helmet give the camera enough light but don't bleach the picture too much?

The cave in question is Movile Cave (Pestera Movile) in Romania, if anyone's interested.
Thanks very much!
rich
richboden
Infrequent Poster

Re: Helmet Cam advice required for a non-caver!

Postby micbec » Oct 25, 2010 4:46 am

I have a VIO Sport helmet camera.

http://www.vio-pov.com/

It records in DVD quality and can record for quite long periods 6hrs+ (depending upon the size of your SD card. Upto 8GB max)

Waterproof to 1m.
Wrist mounted remote control
Separate camera and recording unit.
You can view your recording on the main unit.
You can change the exposure settings to work in low light conditions. (Works really well with headlamps)