question about caving with bats

Please post all bat-related stories, discussions here.

Moderator: Moderators

question about caving with bats

Postby rickster » Apr 7, 2010 5:37 pm

Recently, while checking out the entrance to a cave, ( im new to caving) i rounded a cornerof crawlspace and was startled to see bats flying toward me.. I quickly back out of the entrance.This was my first experience with bats in their enviroment and while im not generally speaking " afraid of bats outside of a cave,.. I dont want them snagged up in my shirt. or flying into me as I was blocking their only way out.It really sent the adrenaline pumping .My question as a new caver is..Will they try to fly around you in such a tight passage or avoid you altogether?Have you had bats invading your space while negotiating a tight squeeze.?( even though I knwow its their space that were invading..) Really need some help here guys..was kinda creepy. :yikes:
rickster
Frequent Poster

Name: Rick OBanion
NSS #: 62960
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Cave Hill Grotto and Nittany Grotto Inc.

Re: question about caving with bats

Postby onebat » Apr 7, 2010 6:41 pm

Speaking from my own experience, I have found that they will try to fly around you. They will leave then come back, trying to get around you. However, I have had them land on me a time or two when I was blocking their way. Once one landed on my helmet, then took off. Another time one landed on my leg, then took of. Just my own experiences.
onebat
Prolific Poster

NSS #: 32368
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Spencer Mountain Grotto

Postby Squirrel Girl » Apr 7, 2010 7:13 pm

When I first started caving, I had a bat bump off my face in a crawlway. Since it's their home, they don't always use their sonar, just like I don't need to turn on the light to walk to the bathroom at night. But in general they prefer to not run into people!

It weirded me out, but then I became comfortable with bats, and of course, it never happened again!