S.W. Missouri area cavers

Who are you and why do you cave? Start your very own topic and introduce yourself!

Moderator: Moderators

S.W. Missouri area cavers

Postby basjr » Aug 15, 2009 10:09 am

Hey everyone, the name is Brett , I have been caving for 18 years. If anyone is in the area, email me @ basjr@usa.com.
I might be a "cave" man, but i am no neanderthal!
Basjr
basjr
Occasional Poster

Name: Brett Allen Smith Jr.

Re: S.W. Missouri area cavers

Postby Chads93GT » Aug 16, 2009 7:35 pm

either way, hello from south east missouri.
Chads93GT
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby basjr » Aug 17, 2009 11:17 am

hello, been in any class A caves? I have yet to. Missouri seems to have quite a few with passages over 2500 feet. Let me know if you want to get together and go underground.
Basjr
basjr
Occasional Poster

Postby Chads93GT » Aug 18, 2009 8:04 am

ermmm...Whats a class A cave?? I live in the cave capitol of missouri, there's more caves over a mile in length, here, than in the rest of the state.
Chads93GT
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby basjr » Aug 18, 2009 8:48 am

Back in the day, Missouri used to classify a cave based on the length of passages, "A" class being over x number of feet. I have stumbled on such a list. There are no class "A" caves in Mcdonald county, but I have over 12 class"B" caves in my county. Class "B" is at least 900 foot of passage, up to 3000 foot of passage. Just looking for larger caves, to check out.
Basjr
basjr
Occasional Poster

Postby Squirrel Girl » Aug 18, 2009 7:06 pm

basjr wrote:Back in the day, Missouri used to classify a cave based on the length of passages, "A" class being over x number of feet. I have stumbled on such a list. There are no class "A" caves in Mcdonald county, but I have over 12 class"B" caves in my county. Class "B" is at least 900 foot of passage, up to 3000 foot of passage. Just looking for larger caves, to check out.