What Grotto to join near Northern KY ?

Who are you and why do you cave? Start your very own topic and introduce yourself!

Moderator: Moderators

What Grotto to join near Northern KY ?

Postby 1cityboygonhillbilly » Aug 13, 2008 3:35 pm

Another newbie here.........

Me, my wife & daughter have always enjoyed caving and recently have explored a few "wild" caves and REALLY enjoyed it. I am a bit OCD....lol.....and every weekend lately were off for a hiking adventure to Red River Gorge, Cumberland, Hocking Hills Ohio and other places hiking and looking for caves. Last weekend we hiked over 17 miles finding one great cave ( with the exception that many know of the cave and its abused) and a lot of little crawls and sinks that I played around in, some only going in a few feet but exploring was a blast. We want to join a local grotto but I am undecided which to join. It looks as if there are 5 within an hour of me here in Northern Kentucky ( I have them listed below). I am sure they are all great but maybe someone could be kind enough to point out anything that may make one stand out from the other or the most active group? When I find something I enjoy I go all out and im ready to learn from the pro's and get in the next cave! Anyone taking the time to post a response let me thank you in advance!

Shane Mullins

Miami Valley Grotto
15602 Hillcrest Road
Mount Orab, OH, 45154

Dayton Underground Grotto
4809 Wolford Rd.
Xenia, OH, 45385

Greater Cincinnati Grotto
6356 Deermeade Drive
Florence, KY, 41042,

Red-Eye Karst Team
6438 Snider Rd
Loveland, OH, 45140-9589

Blue Grass Grotto
720 B Aurora Ave
Lexington, KY, 40502
1cityboygonhillbilly
Infrequent Poster

Re: What Grotto to join near Northern KY ?

Postby wyandottecaver » Aug 13, 2008 7:51 pm

How far are you from louisville? I'm just over the river in southern IN and us hoosiers go pretty regular though there are certainly caves closer.
I'm not scared of the dark, it's the things IN the dark that make me nervous. :)