So I’m Greg Jones and caving is my life

Who are you and why do you cave? Start your very own topic and introduce yourself!

Moderator: Moderators

So I’m Greg Jones and caving is my life

Postby Caving Guru » Dec 29, 2012 6:03 pm

Caving is my absolute favorite thing to do. I try to get to every caving event in the area including the VAR and MAR field meets in the Spring and Fall, PSC (Potomac Speleological Club) events including the PSC Jamboree, DC Grotto outings, and the NSS Conventions that are in the area such as this year's in West Virginia and next year's in Pennsylvania. I am 18 and I have been caving for 6 years since I was 12. I first started caving with my church and I have been in love with caving ever since. My first cave was Sinnett- Thorn Cave and I was blown away by everything- the around 30 foot tall waterfall that landed in a deep pool of water, the fissure that you had to climb up to reach the Big Room, the Big Room itself which was so large that you could not see with your headlight the end of the room to the left, the right, or in front of you and the deep chasm that you had to traverse above. Sinnett-Thorn is still one of my favorite caves. So far I have been caving in 29 wild caves that required gear such as a headlight which does not include the 2 tourist caves I have been to, the at least 7 caves that did not have a name but which were at least large enough for my entire body to fit inside, and the 20 or so sea caves that I kayaked through in California. 3 of the 29 wild caves I have been to twice. I have been caving in West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina and you could count California if you include the 20 or so sea caves that I kayaked through on a guided sea cave kayaking excursion on Santa Cruz Island. 17 of the wild caves I have been to have been at least a mile long. I started practicing vertical with vertical caving gear two years ago at the 2011 Spring VAR and I bought my own vertical gear the next fa