Greetings from TN - New Cave 101

Who are you and why do you cave? Start your very own topic and introduce yourself!

Moderator: Moderators

Greetings from TN - New Cave 101

Postby rescuediver » Nov 14, 2011 11:18 pm

Hello all,

I was a member of NSS a couple of years ago, but unfortunately, I didn't have a chance to get involved as I would have liked and allowed my membership to expire, but now I have a little more time to dedicate. A little background; I'm a Public Safety Rescue Diver with the Nashville Fire Department and I'm also in law enforcement, but I'm a novice caver with little experience beyond commercial caves. With my professions, I definitely understand the concept of operational safety and personal limitations, so I'm not looking to be a John Wayne in Batman's underworld. :big grin:

The reason I joined this forum, is because I'm looking to expand my knowledge of the history and beauty of our caves. I am primarily interested in learning the techniques used in discovering new caves. I have a few books that touch on their formation in limestone, which has helped me identify what things to look for at the surface. So this past weekend, I utilized some of that information and began ridgewalking on some properties I own (in Columbia, TN) that I felt would be considered a karst landscape. I surveyed and wrote down GPS coordinates of dozens of sinkholes, fissures, sinking streams, springs, etc., and I now have a few targets that are of great interest, especially a couple that are blowing air.