How long is that cave-Really?!

Techniques, equipment and issues. Also visit the NSS Survey & Cartography Section.

Moderator: Moderators

How long is that cave-Really?!

Postby trogman » Aug 8, 2009 12:05 pm

I looked in vain through this Forum for anything on this topic, so I will introduce it myself. I have been finding and turning in new caves for several years, all of them have been in either AL or GA, and I have asked this question of several surveyors/cartographers. I keep getting different answers, so I thought I would throw it out here and see what the folks on Cavechat thought about it. My question is regarding the "length" of a cave that is stated on a map and/or in the state survey listing. I have the "On Station" book, and in it George Dasher states that the "length" of a cave is the total passage, whether it be horizontal, vertical, or something in between, that a person would pass through to go through the entire cave. This makes sense to me. But many folks I know take the length of horizontal passage (anything that is not a vertical pit), and put that down as the "length" of the cave. So a cave that has a 50' pit with 90' of passage at the bottom is stated as being a 90' long cave with 1 pit 50' deep. Likewise, a blind bottom pit 50' deep would be reported as a cave with 0' of passage and a 50' pit. Then of course there is the "map length," which if I understand correctly, is the plan view length of passage. If these “lengths” are not clearly specified or understood, it can get pretty confusing.

I guess what I am looking for here more than anything is some sort of "official" standard method that most cavers and state surveys can agree to. That way, we could compare apples to apples. I know that's asking for a lot-maybe I'll bring this up at the next ACS meeting. What do you all think?
Thanks.
Stephen Brewer (The Trogman) :helmet:
trogman
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Stephen Brewer
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Gadsden Grotto