New Surveyor

Techniques, equipment and issues. Also visit the NSS Survey & Cartography Section.

Moderator: Moderators

New Surveyor

Postby TAGCaver » Nov 7, 2007 12:33 pm

I am new to surveying. I have been with a few groups now, and a few buddies of mine are wanting to get our own group together. We are looking to spend under $300, and was curious what you guys though would be the best equipment for around that amount. :help:

Let me know your opinions!

Chris
TAGCaver
Occasional Poster

Name: Chris
NSS #: 59047
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Southport Chronic Cavers

Postby NZcaver » Nov 7, 2007 1:48 pm

A compass, clinometer, and tape might be a good start. Plus a waterproof survey book, pencil, eraser, protractor, flagging tape, and a marker.

For $200 you should be able to find a couple of Suunto Tandem compass/clino units (new or slightly used) on eBay. The book etc shouldn't cost much. With the extra $100 you could either buy a tape and some some change left over, or look at getting one of the cheaper laser distance measuring devices (try eBay for these too).

Take some time, and read through the threads in this part of the forum. There's a wealth of information there. I also suggest signing up for a surveying/sketching workshop at the next NSS convention (or anywhere else one is held).
NZcaver
Global Moderator

Name: Jansen
NSS #: 50665RL

Postby Jeff Bartlett » Nov 7, 2007 2:31 pm

basic equipment:
rite-in-the-rain survey binder @ IMO = $11
100 sheets of offset paper @ IMO = $13
Suunto Tandem #1 on ebay = $100ish
Suunto Tandem #2 on ebay = $100ish
100' fiberglass tape reel w/ decimal side = $15
protractor/straightedge - a couple bucks
mechanical pencil - steal one from work like everyone else

that'll do it for under $300. since you'll have a couple of bucks left over, allow me to recommend a few extras:

extra stuff:
Palm IIIxe on ebay to run Auriga: $30 (http://www.speleo.qc.ca/Auriga/)
waterproof pouch for Palm: $15