help reading cave maps!!!

Techniques, equipment and issues. Also visit the NSS Survey & Cartography Section.

Moderator: Moderators

help reading cave maps!!!

Postby rickster » Apr 26, 2010 5:46 pm

new to caving , trying to decipher this map and was wondering , are cave maps standard as far as their markings?Im having a hard time finding any keys..On this map , what do the arrows mean? , how about the dashed lines,, i can see the pit clearly marked and I figured out the ceiling heights..?Anyone have a link for some help with this please?

http://www.dcnr.state.pa.us/topogeo/tbr ... gure38.pdf
rickster
Frequent Poster

Name: Rick OBanion
NSS #: 62960
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Cave Hill Grotto and Nittany Grotto Inc.

Re: help reading cave maps!!!

Postby rlboyce » Apr 26, 2010 6:08 pm

Wow. Kind of surprised no one else has responded yet.

I'm not a map expert, so anything I tell you could be incorrect. With that in mind, I think the arrows indicate the gradient. I'm not sure which lines you are considering dashed, but they are probably where the passages are too narrow to traverse.

Cave maps can sometimes use different symbols, but usually the symbols are universal. When a non standard symbol is used, it's good practice to include a unique map key.

Here's a PDF of common map symbols I've found:
http://www.carto.net/neumann/caving/cave-symbols/uis_signatures_english.pdf

Hope that helps.

P.S. You might want to consider editing your post and taking down the link to that map. I don't know where you got it from, but you may hear some complaints from other board members about the map including a location...
Happiness can be measured in mud/in².
rlboyce
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Ryan Boyce

Postby Scott McCrea » Apr 26, 2010 6:18 pm

Those arrows are actually symbols that look like bird footprints. They show a slope in the floor. They 'point' up hill. So, in Kurtz Extension, the floor slopes down towards the lower wall.
Scott McCrea
SWAYGO
Scott McCrea