Caving Watch

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Caving Watch

Postby Scott McCrea » Dec 9, 2005 11:59 am

Years ago, there was discussion about caving watches on the original NSS Discussion Board. It has since been lost in cyberspace. That discussion helped me choose a good watch. So, let's see what cavers are thinking now.

I use a Casio Baby-G. The also make a G-Shock. I'm not sure what the difference is. Anyway, this watch has held up great. I've been abusing it for about 4 years now and have no problems whatsoever. Before that I had two Timex Ironman's that got trashed in a few months. The buttons broke, water got in, the band broke... I tried a really cheap thing once too and it only lasted a couple of trips.

I have also quit using the velcro the bands. They don't stay together when they get wet and tear up/pill the sleeves of my sweaters. The band that came with my Casio Baby-G has been tough as nails.

So, what do you use?
Scott McCrea
SWAYGO
Scott McCrea
Global Moderator

NSS #: 40839RL
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Flittermouse Grotto

Postby Steven Johnson » Dec 9, 2005 1:47 pm

Funny, I've been using an Ironman with no problems -- it's held up just fine.

But I suspect you cave on a much more frequent basis than me :-)
Steven Johnson
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

NSS #: 49562
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Diablo Grotto

Postby Dan Sullivan » Dec 9, 2005 2:25 pm

I gave up on watches a long time ago. Instead, I put my cell phone in my first aid kit, which I keep in an small Otter Box. If I need to be out at a certain time, I set the alarm. It's amaising how you can still hear it in the atmosphere of a cave. (I also have insurance on it in case I break it.)
Dan Sullivan

Re: Caving Watch

Postby mgmills » Dec 9, 2005 6:07 pm