Blade-mounting a PT Apex?

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Blade-mounting a PT Apex?

Postby Steven Johnson » Aug 13, 2006 2:11 pm

Has anyone tried to use a blade-mount for a PT Apex? I like the light, but the strap setup is a little awkward, so I'm curious to try a blade-mount setup... but (1) I've never used such a setup before, and (2) the Apex isn't intrinsically designed for it, so I'm not sure whether this would be a good idea or not (or just a good way to screw up the light).

(I recall seeing another post where someone mounted an Apex directly to the helmet via screws, but I'd prefer something that would allow the light to be removed more easily...)
Steven Johnson
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

NSS #: 49562
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Diablo Grotto

Postby NZcaver » Aug 13, 2006 6:56 pm

I was the one who posted about screwing the Apex to the helmet. (The screws go neatly through the strap brackets so there's no damage to the light.)

See http://www.caves.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... &start=110

I used a blade mount with my old carbide cap-lamp years ago - I thought mounting headlamps that way was virtually obsolete now? Anyway, my suggestion would be to make/modify a blade bracket and screw the Apex to it - the same way I screw the headlamp directly to my helmet.

Good luck! :woohoo:
NZcaver
Global Moderator

Name: Jansen
NSS #: 50665RL

Postby fuzzy-hair-man » Aug 13, 2006 7:05 pm

You could maybe make up a mounting bracket and attach it to the Apex at the screw that lets you set the vertical direction the light is pointing :question: I don't know I haven't seen all that many blade mount lights so I don't know what the brackets look like but it might be possible. :oops:
fuzzy-hair-man
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Primary Grotto Affiliation: NUCC