Light recommendation: Cave excavation + Cave Diving

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Light recommendation: Cave excavation + Cave Diving

Postby Antillothrix » Sep 24, 2015 12:11 pm

Hello,

I'm new to the forum, but I've been caving on and off for several years, and a cave diver for a little more than a year. I am also a primate paleontology doctoral student and researcher working mostly on extinct Caribbean primates (almost exclusively found in caves). I've only worked sites underwater up until now, but I am undergoing vertical training to access some dry sites and hard-to-reach submerged sites to look for primate fossils in the Caribbean and Madagascar.

On my most recent research trip to the Dominican Republic I found that, as expected, A LOT of light helps A LOT when searching for small remains often stained and matching the color of the sediments they rest in. That was underwater, where light is particularly important and inefficient. Now, I am looking to finish my dry-cave kit with a powerful headlamp that can do triple-duty as a caving light, a flood for excavating dry sites, and a supplement to my diving lights during underwater search and excavation. This means a light with flood and spot settings, long life, and submersible to >40-50m

I consider myself knowledgable about cave diving equipment, but I could use some help finding a headlamp that can crossover from dry to submerged. Cost is a concern, but sometimes high-quality equipment manufacturers offer support for research by way of discounts, so it may still be worthwhile to look into some of pricier options if they fit the bill. Thanks very much for any tips.

Cheers,
Zach

:bat2: