Headlamp for cave excavation

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Headlamp for cave excavation

Postby hallaly » Mar 30, 2014 11:21 pm

Hey guys,
I'm totally new to any of this, but I have a question and I figured I'd go straight to the experts.
I'm doing an archaeological dig in a cave this coming summer and I need the best and brightest (literally) headlamp that I can get. I know nothing about specific specs and all of that, so I'm sorry I don't necessarily understand all the lingo. I just need something very very bright, since we'll be looking for very small artifacts in the dirt, that will stay bright for hours, for like 10 hours a day with some batteries. If you can help me out PLEASE let me know!
Thanks!
hallaly
New Poster

Re: Headlamp for cave excavation

Postby VRcaver » Mar 31, 2014 11:34 am

Well, now, if THAT question isn't opening a can of worms.

There are several headlamps out now that will put out 1000 lumens or more. You will need to look for something that uses the Cree (brand) XM-L2 (model) LED. You should also evaluate whether you need a flood light, a spot light, or both, and whether those should work singly or in combination. And, with more brightness comes more power consumption, so you need to evaluate the battery capacity.

The Top 3 commonly available headlamps that are made for cavers and are the brightest of the bright are the Scurion, the Rude Nora, and the ElSpeleo. Of those the Scurion is the most expensive and the ElSpeleo is the least expensive.

As the distributor of the ElSpeleo, :waving: of course that is my recommendation! My site is: http://elspeleo.com/
VRcaver
Occasional Poster

Name: Doug Warner
NSS #: 41724
Primary Grotto Affiliation: NRMG

Postby rlboyce » Mar 31, 2014 11:59 am