Caving Coveralls for Crawlspaces?

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Caving Coveralls for Crawlspaces?

Postby Ibbob » Jan 18, 2014 2:12 pm

I am a Home Inspector, and one of the places I get to inspect is Crawl Spaces. Some are nice, warm and tall, but most are ugly, very tight, wet and likely contaminated with who knows what...

The Issue I want some help with is CLOTHING.

I USED to be able to get tyvek suits in tall sizes, but not any more. I am 6'1" and a thin 230#'s. If I get a suit that is tall enough, I end up with a lot of extra material around the middle and the seat that catches on things. So I tried a RedKap heavy cotton duck large/tall set of coveralls. They fit, but are restrictive, and seem anything BUT water resistant.

I looked into Rescue extrication gear suits, but they are Nomex and start at $450. I don't need Nomex and that seems excessive.

My Question to this group, is where can I get a good coverall suit that is water resistant, washable, available in long/tall and suitable for someone crawling around in dirt, mud, filth, sharps and pointy things, lots of snags, and VERY tight spaces (that's why I am posting here) Some suits I saw had reinforced knees and elbows, that would be nice as I currently have to strap on elbow and knee pads over my suit. Disposable suits would be nice, as crawl spaces can be contaminated with a variety of interesting things, and washing those in with my laundry doesn't appeal to my wife, but...disposables don't offer as much protection.... Protection wins...

http://www.krawlgear.com/ is a neat site for elbow pads, knee pads and their crawl kart....but they don't have good suits...

Ideas ???
Ibbob
Infrequent Poster

Re: Caving Coveralls for Crawlspaces?

Postby Chads93GT » Jan 18, 2014 2:41 pm