Building a Scaling Pole

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Building a Scaling Pole

Postby GroundquestMSA » Dec 24, 2013 5:35 pm

Just for the fun of it, I would like to build a scaling pole. Though it seems that such methods are somewhat obsolete, there are a few caves where I can practically put such a tool to use, and I would rather use a pole than teach myself to bolt climb. I have some ideas for materials and design, but want to see if you have any tips before I start wasting money.

Thirty feet is about the maximum length I'm comfortable with. I'm thinking a spur on the foot and two lines from the top should work for stabalization. I'm not sure how to approach the attachment point up top.

I also don't know what kind of stress a scaling pole is subjected to. I'm a flooring installer and have access to a bunch of steel carpet stretcher tubing. Are any of you familiar with these tubes? Do you think they're too light for the job? I'll test some later tonight.

Cheers,
J
Last edited by GroundquestMSA on Dec 24, 2013 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GroundquestMSA
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Re: Building a Scaling Pole

Postby GroundquestMSA » Dec 24, 2013 5:55 pm

I just found this previous thread on the topic... should have checked first. I also just got word that there is a bunch of 2" galvanized pipe available in a local farmer's barn. That could work, but I'm not sure how to attach the sections.
GroundquestMSA
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby rlboyce » Dec 24, 2013 6:14 pm

I prefer my grappling hook. :tonguecheek:

30 feet on a scaling pole... sounds kind of hairy!
Happiness can be measured in mud/in².
rlboyce
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Ryan Boyce

Postby GroundquestMSA » Dec 24, 2013 6:20 pm

GroundquestMSA wrote:I'm not sure how to attach the sections.