Good "flood" light?

Discuss caving lights, packs, helmets, clothing, etc.
For rope and vertical equipment, go to the On Rope! forum.
Cave electronics enthusiasts can also visit the Communications and Electronics Section forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Good "flood" light?

Postby self-deleted_user » Aug 6, 2010 9:20 pm

Hi!
I am new to caving and so far have just borrowed gear but it is time to buy my own helmet and light...hence my question (and my issue...)

I have very bad night vision. It takes about 15+ minutes for my eyes to adjust to low light, and as soon as exposed to high light they go right back, I'm blinded, or they just never adjust. So seeing any other caver's lights, looking at the spot where my light illuminates, etc, all means that my eyes never adjust to low light and I can only see the exact small spot illuminated (usually 1-2 foot diameter, none of the ambient light from around that exact spot) which as I have done a few more caves that especially have lots of breakdown it is very very very hard to see whether it is a rock or a dropoff! Makes things hard.

So...What is a good light that is more of a flood light instead of the spot? I'd rather have medium light over a large area than a bright spot that I can only see a little area. It'd be nice for it to have a spot like normal too...nice to see into holes and stuff. But for general traveling through, lighting up a large area decently well over one spot very well is what I need.

Thanks!

PS also...I'm a poor grad student...it's going to be a huge hard investment in the helmet and light anyway, I keep seeing $100 price tags for each...or more...I don't really even have that much so please don't suggest really expensive ones.
Self-deleted due to large troll population on the forum, and absence of moderation.
self-deleted_user
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Re: Good "flood" light?

Postby Steven Johnson » Aug 6, 2010 10:17 pm