Google Maps Question/Concern

Caves and caving, beginning caving, joining the NSS, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Google Maps Question/Concern

Postby kaolin87 » Jun 14, 2016 1:34 pm

Hello all,

I apologize for the following vagueness but I trust it will make sense. I am a professional ecologist that is conducting background research on a project area. I received feedback from an agency on species/places of concern near the project area; one place of concern is a nearby cave. When I searched the cave's name online, I stumbled across a live/shared Google Map page (the only search result) with all known caves in my state pinpointed. These points are able to be downloaded into a KMZ file. I've been to a few of my state's public caves, and those points appear to be accurate. Obviously I will not share this discovery here.

My concern is someone with a lack of cave etiquette will stumble upon this and do harm (intentional or not) to these caves and their often-sensitive inhabitants. There again, I am not 100% familiar with the caving community so I don't know if this is standard practice to share this information, but I assume it is not. Is this OK or should this be addressed? Shoot me a message if you are a part of an SS/grotto/etc. if this is an issue.

Thanks!

:waving:
kaolin87
New Poster

Re: Google Maps Question/Concern

Postby tncaver » Jun 16, 2016 12:51 pm

The posting of cave locations on the web concerns us too. But what can we do about it.
There is only one thing I can think of that you can do. That is to notify Google about the
sensitivity of those locations. However, I highly doubt that will change anything.
tncaver
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby graveleye » Jun 16, 2016 3:51 pm

They might... they're fairly environmentally friendly. The trick is getting to the right person at Google in order to state your case.
I've noticed some caves marked on Google Maps too, but the same caves are also on topo maps.
ad astra per aspera