How to fill in a sinkhole?

Caves and caving, beginning caving, joining the NSS, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

How to fill in a sinkhole?

Postby Squirrel Girl » Apr 17, 2006 7:18 am

OK, as cavers, we all know not to build over sinkholes. Rah to Cindy for her work to keep the WalMart off the cave in Alachua!

BUT! Take your average US homeowner (e.g. MY SISTER) who lives in a karst area and who has had a sinkhole open NEXT TO HER HOUSE. She keeps filling it, it keeps opening back up.

Yes, my reaction is DUH! But I'm a geologist, not a geotechnical engineer. What can she do that is practical? I think she just threw in cinderblocks and rocks for her next try.

FYI - we're talking Bloomington, IN. She claims the sinkhole is big enough to stuff a small body into (HAH! I guess that means not hers nor mine! :shocked: )
Barbara Anne am Ende

"Weird people are my people."
Squirrel Girl
Global Moderator

NSS #: 15789

Re: How to fill in a sinkhole?

Postby JackW » Apr 17, 2006 7:50 am

Squirrel Girl wrote:OK, as cavers, we all know not to build over sinkholes. Rah to Cindy for her work to keep the WalMart off the cave in Alachua!

BUT! Take your average US homeowner (e.g. MY SISTER) who lives in a karst area and who has had a sinkhole open NEXT TO HER HOUSE. She keeps filling it, it keeps opening back up.

Yes, my reaction is DUH! But I'm a geologist, not a geotechnical engineer. What can she do that is practical? I think she just threw in cinderblocks and rocks for her next try.

FYI - we're talking Bloomington, IN. She claims the sinkhole is big enough to stuff a small body into (HAH! I guess that means not hers nor mine! :shocked: )

Oh, can I come check it out before she tries to fill it in again?

I also have a card that says I'm certified safe in unstable rock zones (I made it myself - but don't tell anyone :shhh: )

On a serious note, I can get her in touch with people from the city of Bloomington that can likely help her.

There is a PM on its way to you!
JackW