Setting up a caving class

Caves and caving, beginning caving, joining the NSS, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Setting up a caving class

Postby Atomic Zagnut » Mar 31, 2006 10:15 pm

Howdy y'all! I'm an outdoor student at San Juan College in Farmington, NM. We have an excellent outdoor program here, but one thing that's missing is a caving class. Instead of going to the head of the program and saying "Hey, you should offer a caving class," I figured I'd do some preliminary research before my proposal to help him out. Since the NSS seems to be the authority on caving in the US, I thought I'd ask you guys some questions:
  • What sort of topics should be covered in an introductory caving class?
  • Are there any books that would make a great textbook? A "Caver's Bible" or sorts?
  • Is there a level 1 caving certification that could be earned through the NSS or some other organization upon successful completion of the class?
  • Is there anyone living in or near the four corners region of the southwest US who would be willing to instruct such a class?

That's all I can think of right now. I'll post more questions if I think of any. And, if there's anything you want me to clarify, feel free to ask me questions! Thanks in advance!
Atomic Zagnut
Infrequent Poster

Postby bigalpha » Apr 1, 2006 12:44 am

One thing that I'm a little hazy on; what exactly is an "outdoor program"?
bigalpha
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Postby Atomic Zagnut » Apr 1, 2006 1:58 am

I'm attending college and majoring in Outdoor Recreation. Classes focus on everything from wildreness ethics, such as Leave No Trace, to specific skill sets, such as backpacking or mountaineering. For more information on San Juan College's outdoor program, check out http://www.sanjuancollege.edu/pages/422.asp
Atomic Zagnut
Infrequent Poster

Postby Herman Miller » Apr 1, 2006 2:34 am

A very good question, just a quick brainstorm i thought of several things to include in a short intro class to training, and for the list: