First-Time Caver Needs Gear Advice

Caves and caving, beginning caving, joining the NSS, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

First-Time Caver Needs Gear Advice

Postby Cristina » Mar 20, 2006 1:15 pm

Hi all,

I'm a magazine editor and I'm working on a story about caving. Unfortunately, I'm having a lot of trouble finding women-specific gear in this sport. Do you all have ANY recommendations for the following items? Also, am I missing anything essential that every first time caver must have?

1. TOP

2. PANTS

3.BOOTS

4. PACK

5. HELMET/LANTERN

6. HEAD LAMP

7. KNEE PADS

8. GLOVES

Thank you so much for all your help!!

Best,
Cristina
Cristina
Infrequent Poster

Postby Caver1402 » Mar 20, 2006 1:39 pm

Don't forget extra batteries and at least three sources of light, just in case one fails. :-) In cold caves, polypro is good to have. Cotton directly against the skin is bad.

Edit: Oh, and lots of water or gatorade ... getting dehydrated caving sucks!

Edit 2: I keep thinking of things ... I recently bought a balaclava. While this is good to keep guys and girls' heads warm, I especially like it because it helps keep longer hair from getting too tangled. :hairpull: I can show you some scary pre-balaclava pics.
Laura J. Lexander
NSS #52727 / Affiliated with the WCG, NNG, and IKC
CRF Eastern Operations Personnel Officer
http://lexanderfamily.com - Updated 07/28/09
Caver1402
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Name: Laura J. Lexander
NSS #: 52727
Primary Grotto Affiliation: Windy City Grotto

Postby ian mckenzie » Mar 20, 2006 1:58 pm

Cristina, can you tell us which region you will be caving in? I assume you are in the USA...
ian mckenzie
NSS Hall Of Fame Poster

Primary Grotto Affiliation: Alberta Speleological Society

Postby Cristina » Mar 20, 2006 1:59 pm

Yup, US destinations!
Cristina
Infrequent Poster

Postby mgmills » Mar 20, 2006 2:21 pm